Just Give It Away

“16.) By this we know love, because He laid down His life for us. And we also ought to lay down our lives for the brethren. 17.) But whoever has this world’s goods, and sees his brother in need, and shuts up his heart from him, how does the love of God abide in him?”
I John 3:16‭-‬17 NKJV

    How many times have we seen someone standing on the corner at the grocery or convenience store?  Maybe their clothes were torn or dirty.  And it seemed like they hadn’t bathed in a couple of days.

    Initially, we think, “I should give him some money”.  Then, almost immediately, we follow that thought with, “but they’ll probably spend it on booze or drugs”.

    When Jesus gave us the gift of life through His death, He never said, “but they’ll probably spend it on something they shouldn’t”.  He simply gave it.  

I John 3:16.) By this we know love, because He laid down His life for us. And we also ought to lay down our lives for the brethren.

    No strings attached.  We know what we should do with the gift of life because it is explained in the Word.

    I have had the similar thought, “(the stranger) will probably spend it on booze or drugs”.  Recently, I’ve had a change of heart.  I guess I should say, God changed my heart.  That isn’t our concern.

    I John 3:17.) But whoever has this world’s goods, and sees his brother in need, and shuts up his heart from him, how does the love of God abide in him?

    If we feel moved to give, congratulations, you’re hearing that “still, small, voice,” the Bible talks about.  Now… simply give.  Let God handle the rest.  

    I mean, He’s the one that put it in our hearts to give in the first place.  Shouldn’t we believe He will use for His glory?

    Let’s SHOW our brothers (and sisters) refuge THROUGH the Word.

Leave a comment